Uganda Swimmers off for CANA Zone 3 Championship

By Emmanuel Sekago

A thirty five man team led by Uganda Swimming Federation President Donald Rukare leaves for Tanzania  on Tuesday night  aboard Rwanda air for the CANA Zone III swimming championship, slated for 19-21 Oct 2017 in Dar es salaam.

National council of sports Assistant General Secretary Technical, David Katende flagged off the Uganda team at Gems Cambridge international School Kampala on Sunday 15th Oct 2017 and handed over the flag to team captain Avice Meya.

Meya stated that; “that this year’s championship is going to be tough, but we are going to compete and will do our best and come back with medals.”

Last year’s championship which was hosted in Rwanda,  Uganda finished 3rd with 2125 points Combined, collecting 923 points in Women and 1170 points in men categories losing the title they won in 2015 to Tanzania who amassed 2484 points all together.

The Squad:

Female athletes: Avice Meya (Team Captain),Chaiara Nasamba,Diana Othieno,Hannat Nakimuli,Kirabo Namutebi, Mercedes Amani, Racheal Galinda, Zara Nampewo.

Male athletes: Darren Ssamula (Asst Team Captain), Adnan Kabuye, Alvin Emitu, Alvin Okware, Ben Kaganda, Franchesco Kagugube, Tendo Mukalazi, Peter Mbabazi, Samora Lumonya and Samora Byansi.

Officials: Donald Rukare (President), Moses Mwase (Secretary General),Tonnie Kasujja (Team Coach), Max Kanyerezi (Competition secretary), Liz Kabahenda (Asst Compeition Secretary), William Buyondo (Official), Micheal Obote (Official) and Four Chaperons/ Parents

Uganda team will be competing with other countries which include; hosts Tanzania, South Africa, Zambia, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi and Zanzibar.