Njeru Municipality MP Lwanga Petitions Energy Ministry Over Electricity

Njeru Municipality Member of Parliament (MP), National Unity Platform (NUP)’s Hon. Jimmy Lwanga has petitioned Parliament over lack of electricity in most of the villages in his constituency.

Njeru Municipality formerly Buikwe North Constituency, comprises three divisions; Njeru, Wakisi and Nyenga and is home to several factories and historical precious establishments.

In a letter titled ‘POWER SHORTAGE IN MOST OF THE VILLAGES IN NJERU MUNICIPALITY ‘dated July 30th 2021, addressed to the Minister of Energy and Mineral development and copied to several relevant offices including District and Municipal local leaders, Hon. Lwanga argues that the area is frustrated with the delay of power extension where several revenue generating programs set up with the hope that the villages would have electricity have been affected.

The Petition

‘’Allow me to draw your attention to the fact that Njeru Municipality in spite of being the major source of energy /electricity in the country at Bujagaali and Nalubaale hydroelectric power stations, most villages don’t have electricity up to date which is a remarkable hindrance to the development of the area’’, reads in part the petition from Lwanga, who is the former speaker for Njeru Municipality.

Lwanga alias ‘Embwa Yokukyalo’ added that the municipality is highly populated with many schools, factories among other establishments that have suffered power deficiency which has impacted on their social economic transformation.

The legislator, who asked the ministry to expedite the process of extending power to the affected villages, so as to boost economic activities and save lives in these areas, reminded the government that Njeru is among the areas bucketing huge revenues to the National treasury through taxes.

The affected villages include;Nakibizzi , Nsenge, Kinabi, Kanyogoga ,Nakakumbi ,Butema ,Bulungu, Buziika Parish ,Kabaale ,Bugoba A,B,C,Banga 1 & 2 and Namabu.

Other villages are; Kamwokya, Wabuyinja, Kalagala, Nakalanga, Kyoga, Kgudu and Namaziba among others.

A Collage of Hon.Lwanga with the Petition

It should be noted that the government through Rural Electrification Agency (REA), a semi-autonomous body established by an Act of Parliament, is mandated to operationalise rural electrification function.

REA is mandated to implement a number of projects including Grid extension, Independent Grids and off grid Solutions.

Dan Mugula Mugalu , a coordinator in Lwanga’s office and former councilor for Namuwaya Zone said Buikwe will transform if all leaders perform their roles like Lwanga which among others include oversight and effective representation.

Subscribe for notification