Salva Kiir Fires Mabior Garang De Mabior From Cabinet

Salva Kiir Fires Mabior Garang De Mabior From Cabinet

President Salva Kiir has replaced six SPLM-IO ministers and two deputy SPLM-IO ministers in a decision that has unclear effects on the country’s floundering peace deal.

The decision comes after Lam Akol resigned as Minister of Agriculture, calling the peace deal dead. It was unclear how much involvement the First Vice President Taban Deng had in Kiir’s decisions. Under the peace deal signed in August, the SPLM-IO were given a voice in which of their ministers were appointed.

In a Republican Decree, Kiir relived Alfred Lado Gore the Minister of Interior, and replaced him with Michael Tiangjiek Mut. Gore was named the Minister of Land, Housing, and Urban Development, replacing Mary Alfonse Nadio Lodira. Gore was one of the officials who appeared with Taban Deng when he announced he would replace Riek Machar as First Vice President.

Kiir replaced Dak Doth Bishok, the Minister of Petroleum, with Ezekiel Lul Gat. The former Minister of Higher Education Peter Adwok Nyaba has been replaced with Yien O.L. Tut.

Mabior Garang De Mabior, the former Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation has been replaced with Sofia A. Gai.

Peter Marcello, the Minister of Labour, has been replaced with Gabriel Duop Lam.

The Deputy Minister of the Interior Duop Lam has been replaced with Rieu Gatliek Gai.

The Deputy Minister of Labour Elizabeth Achuei has been replaced with Natake Allan.

Gabriel Yol Dok has also been replaced as the Presidential Advisor for Social Service Delivery, and Michael Mario Dhuor has been named the Presidential Advisor on Reforms, Monitoring and Evaluation. Finally, Ramadan Hassan Laku has been named adviser on Good Governance and Rule of Law.


Subscribe for notification