12 Cops Dismissed

12 Special Police Constables-SPCs in Lira have been dismissed for various offenses ranging from theft, indiscipline and negligence.

They are Denis Okola, Alexis Ebong, Betty Akello, Steven Okello, Sharon Aceng, Bazil Ameny, Rebecca Auma, Cosmas Enyang, Martin Ongom, Epila Ojuka, Eunice Ageno and Moris Peter Ogwang.

The constables were dismissed after appearing before the district police disciplinary committee. Manshur Suwed, the Central North regional police spokesperson says the cops were thoroughly investigated before they appeared before the disciplinary committee, which recommended their dismissal.

According to Manshur, some of the affected have been on refresher training in different locations across the country.

The 12 SPCs are part of the group that was recruited in 2000.  They were deployed under the Anti Stock Theft Unit-ASTU to crack down on the rampant cattle theft in North-Eastern Uganda.

Subscribe for notification