African Leaders Agree On Fund To Curb Terror


President Yoweri Museveni at the AU Security summit in Nairobi on Tuesday
President Yoweri Museveni at the AU Security summit in Nairobi on Tuesday

Kenya, a country that has been victim to several terror attacks, has today hosted the African Union Peace and Security Summit in its capital Nairobi.

The Summit chaired by Chad’s President Idriss Debby atrracted African Heads of State including Presidents, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni of the Republic of Uganda, Nigeria’s Goodluck Jonathan.

According to President Yoweri Museveni’s Special Assistant for Communications, Sarah Kagingo, the African Leaders renewed commitment to collective, comprehensive and coordinated response to terrorism and to address all conditions conducive to the spread of terrorism and violent extremism.

The African Leaders have set up a fund towards the fight against terrorism to which Kenya has contributed $1M, Nigeria $1M and Saudi Arabia $10M.

Delivering his statement, Kenya’s Uhuru Kenyatta called on African Governments to be prepared to allocate resources to fight terror, “even as we look to other partners.”

“The African Fund will go a long way in realizing Africa’s vision 2063 on self reliance,” South Africa’s State Minister in charge of Security said of the fund.

African leaders steered the African Rapid Response to Crises, East African Leaders recently set up the East African Standby Force, and the African Fund towards the fight against terrorism has been set up today. Africans are increasingly taking charge of their affairs.

On the 21st of September 2013, unidentified gunmen attacked the upmarket WestGate shopping mall in Nairobi. The attack that lasted until 24th September 2014 resulted in at least 67 deaths. Over 175 people were reportedly wounded in the mass shooting.

That the African Union Peace and Security Council Summit is held in Kenya 19 days away from the first anniversary of the WestGate attack is significant.

Our hearts go out to the victims and families who lost their beloved and to the Republic of Kenya.


Subscribe for notification