PREVIEW: SC Victoria Head For First CAF Outing

ByekwasoMorley Byekwaso, head coach of SC Victoria University and his young guns have Friday morning flown to Lubumbashi for their first attempt in continental football.

For SC Victoria University, only formed less than five years ago, the team makes its debut against a considerably strong opposition, CS Don Bosco, in the first leg of the preliminary round of the CAF Confederation Cup on Saturday.

After failing to go past the first hurdle last season, falling to South Africa’s SuperSport United, CS Don Bosco will hope to perform better this time round.

While Byekwaso’s team has not been so busy in the last few weeks with build-ups, the DR Congo side managed to finish second in the four-team tourney in Ndola, Zambia, last month.

Martin Mpuga, their new captain, fresh from the Africa Nations Championship, said they will make sure they keep a very tight defence because playing away from home is always tricky.

The team will also look to Isaac Muleme and Bernard Agele in defence, while Simon Okwi and Dan Nsubuga look for the goals.

Musindo dropped

University Football League 2013 topscorer Siraj Musindo was also among the eight players dropped by Byekwaso as he released his final 18-man squad that will have five debutantes.

Byekwaso was forced to intervene after Musindo and left back Isaac Muleme almost came to blows. Musindo appeared to swing an elbow towards Muleme with the coach consequently ordering the winger off the pitch.

The team will also miss the services of three suspended key players – Denis Iguma, Savio Kabugo and Mike Serumaga – for disciplinary reasons, they remain a weakened side in the absence of the trio.

The match will be played at the Stade TP Mazembe in Lubumbashi and will return on Sunday according to information from the SCVU Head of Communications Leon Ssenyange.

The team will reside at the Grand Karavia Hotel, Lubumbashi.Mpuga

TRAVELING PARTY: Goalkeepers: Benjamin Ochan, Ali Kimera Defenders: Fred Agandu, Isaac Muleme, Bernard Agele Martin Mpuga, Hamza Delu, Murshid Jjuko

Midfield: David Ndihabwe, Yasser Mugerwa, Noah Semakula, Muzamir Mutyaba, Muwadda Mawejje, Peter Otai

Forwards: Simon Okwi, Dan Nsubuga, Dan Isiagi, Mathew Odong

Technical staff: Morley Byekwaso – Head Coach, Moses Oloya – Goalkeeper’s Coach, Nestroy Kizito – Club Coordinator, Ivan Ssewanyana – Team Physio Leader of Delegation: Mr. Sam Lwere

Subscribe for notification