NRM Yet To Designate Committee Leadership

Justine Lumumba, the government chief whip
Justine Lumumba, the government chief whip

The ruling NRM party is yet to designate chairpersons of standing committees in Parliament as required by the parliamentary rules of procedure, a day before the resumption of parliament meetings.

The Forum for Democratic Change recently announced leaders of the standing committees designated to the opposition side after the term of the previous leadership elapsed. Article 146 of the parliamentary rules of procedure provides that standing committees shall have a tenure of two and a half years.

Standing committees in Parliament include; the Public Accounts Committee-PAC, The Budget Committee, the committee on National Economy, the committee on appointments, the committee on Equal Opportunities and the committee on Government Assurances.

Others are; the committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises-COSASE, the committee on Local Government Accounts, the committee on HIV/AIDS, the committee on Human rights and the committee on Science and Technology.

The opposition designates the leadership of PAC, COSASE, Government Assurance and Local Government Accounts while the rest of the standing committees with the exception of the Appointments Committee are left for the ruling party.  The appointments committee is chaired by the speaker of Parliament.

Party whips are expected to address the house on the new chairpersons of the standing committees, according to the order paper initially discharged for tomorrow’s business.

But NRM Party whip Justine Kasule Lumumba Monday evening told local media that the party has not yet designated leaders for these committees.

Commissioner Chris Baryomunsi discloses that the party has changed the process of designating individuals to the parliamentary commission. He says that unlike before where commissioners were elected by the National Executive Committee members at a party caucus, the mandate has been transferred to the Central Executive Committee.

He said that the party leadership asked the interested parties to submit their applications from which CEC will choose the most eligible ones.

Baryomunsi adds that the interested individuals submitted their applications but they are yet to hear from CEC about their final decisions.

Subscribe for notification