EAC Leaders Sign Mutual Defense Pact

Presidents Yoweri Museveni (C), Kenya's Uhuru Kenyatta (L) and Paul Kagame of Rwanda (R)
Presidents Yoweri Museveni (C), Kenya’s Uhuru Kenyatta (L) and Paul Kagame of Rwanda (R)

Presidents Paul Kagame of Rwanda, Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya and their host, President Yoweri Museveni on Thursday signed a mutual Defence Pact at the end of the 4th corridor Projects Summit held at Speke Resort Munyonyo in Kampala.

The three leaders also signed a Mutual Peace and Security Pact.

The Summit also witnessed the Ministers of Foreign Affairs signing a memorandum of understanding to formalize engagement with Africa 50 infrastructure.

The regional leaders issued a communiqué that was presented by the Ugandan Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sam Kutesa.

On the situation in South Sudan, the Heads of State noted that the current crisis has serious implications on regional peace and security. They rejected attempts of unconstitutional change of Government as enshrined in the African Union Constitutive Act. The Heads of State strongly condemned the recent attack by the rebels in South Sudan on the town of Malakal on the 18th February 2014, as this constituted a serious violation of the cessation of hostilities agreement signed on the 23rd January 2014 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The leaders reaffirmed their support to the Republic of South Sudan in her request for resolution of the crisis in consonance with IGAD mechanism.

They resolved that partner states would develop a joint power generation project.

They noted that all the partner States have made contribution to the Bank Account in Kigali towards the feasibility study for the engineering, procurement and construction of an oil pipeline.

Adapted From Sarah Kagingo’s Facebook Wall

She Is The Special Presidential Assistant On Communication

2 thoughts on “EAC Leaders Sign Mutual Defense Pact

Comments are closed.

Subscribe for notification