Uganda Names Team For Cricket World Cup Quailifiers

cricketUganda Cricket Association has named the team that travels to New Zealand in January 2014 to play in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2014 – the 10-team qualifying event for Associate nations for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 to be held in Australia and New Zealand – with the top two teams going through.

The team has captain Davis Karashani Arinatwe, Hamza Saleh Almuzahim, Richard Okia, Farouk Ochimi, Raymond Otim, Brian Masaba, Phiemon Mukobe, Patrick Ochan, Benjamin Musoke, Duesddedit Muhumuza, Lawrence Sematimba, Frank Nsubuga, Abram Mutyagaba, Roger Mukasa, Charles Waiswa with Arthur Solomon Kyobe and Jonathan Sebanja as reserves.

Uganda, who are scheduled to leave on January 1 for acclimatisation, have two warm up matches against UAE (Jan 10) and Canada (Jan 11) before the tournament proper starts.

The cricketers start with an epic clash against Netherlands on January 13, play PNG three days later before wrapping up with two duels against fellow Africans Kenya (Jan 19) and Namibia (Jan 21).

Over a three-week period, 150 players from the ICC’s top associate and affiliate members will take part in 34 matches as they bid to clinch a World Cup ticket for their respective teams.

In the North Island, matches will be played at Mt Maunganui’s Bay Oval and the iconic terraced Pukekura Park in New Plymouth. In the South Island, Christchurch’s Hagley Oval will debut as an international cricket venue. Matches will also be played in Rangiora, Queenstown and Lincoln, with the Bert Sutcliffe Oval hosting the final of the tournament on February 1.

Group A
United Arab Emirates, Scotland, Canada, Hong Kong, Nepal

Group B
The Netherlands, Kenya, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Uganda


Subscribe for notification