CECAFA| 10-man TZ Stop Defending Champs Uganda

Okwi EmmaDaniel Sserunkuma missed his penalty to allow Tanzania eliminate defending champions Uganda Cranes 4-2 on post match shootouts after the regular time score ended in a two-all draw in the first GOtv Cecafa Cup 2013 quarter final underway at the Agha Khan Municipal Stadium Mombasa.

Khalid Awucho and left back Geofrey Walusimbi also missed their penalties for Uganda while TP Mazembe star Mbwana Samatta and Erasto Nyoni also had their spots stopped by Cranes goalie Benjamin Ochan and the woodwork respectively.

Kili Star Salum  Abubaker was sent off after a second bookable offence on Walusimbi in 53rd minute.

Micho Sredojevic’s side, were the only side to make the last eight with maximum points from three group games, fancied their chances against a team they had beaten four times in the last five meetings, with the other one – a draw at the Nile Basin tournament in Egypt.

The Serb, Micho, was cautious with his words “We faced a very tough team Tanzania that had rested enough,” he said after the defeat.

“We faced a team that is high psychologically after the arrival of two TP Mazembe experienced players Thomas Ulimwengu and Samata, so I’m was expecting a very, very tough match.”

Action-packed first half

Ngasa had the first sniff at goal in the 5th minute but he was ruled to be offside after being put through by Thomas Ulimwengu.

As the match proceeded, Tanzania were looking a better side as Cranes sat back to break on the counter.

Ulimwengu thought to have broken the dead lock in the 12th minute buts saw his hard shot blocked by Cranes defender Richard Kagasa.

Uganda had the first laugh in the 16th minute with Dan Sserunkuma opening the scoring after latching a cross from Kiiza Hamis.

Three minutes later, it was 1-1 after Mrisho Ngasa leveled matters with a neat finish from inside the area.

Tanzania had another chance to break into the lead but Mrisho Ngasa free kick on the right flank from 20 yards was well dealt with the Uganda backline after the latter was fouled at the edge of the box by Kagasa Richard.

Uganda looked to be settling in the match with Sserunkuma and Emmanuel Okwi having the best of the opportunities.

A minute before resumption, Uganda pulled out an ineffective Joseph Mpande for Brian Majwega.

Tanzania had two consecutive corners both fruitless as the Cranes now forced their opponents into their own box with the 50th minute corner shot wide by Khalid Aucho.

Dan Sserunkuma thought he had restored parity for his side but his free kick at the edge of the box was tipped over the bar for a fruitless corner by Ivo Mapunda, that happening in the 63rd minute.

Uganda reacted in the 65th minute withdrawing Geoffrey Kizito for Kyeyune Said to spearhead their attacks upfront.

It paid off eight minutes later when Mpuga Martin connected home the equalizer after Mapunda failed to hold on to the Brian Majwega corner.

Kim Poulsen then introduced Athumani Idd as Mriso Ngasa paved way with Taifa Stars sitting back to ensure they decide matters on post match penalties.

Cranes coach Micho made three changes with SCVU defender Savio Kabugo who missed Cranes last group game against Sudan due to the same problem being replaced by club compatriot Martin Mpuuga who scored his first international goal today in the 73rd minute.

Mpuuga was part of the side that kept a clean a sheet against Sudan and is partner Richard Kasagga at the heart of defence.

Nicholas Wadada returned to the starting team after being rested for the previous game while Joseph Mpande’s improved performance against Sudan earned him a start on the team ahead of KCC FC winger Brian Majwega who started on the bench.

Uganda: Benjamin Ochan (GK), Nicholas Wadada (14), Geofrey Walusimbi (15), Richard Kassaga (5), Martin Mpuga (12), Khalid Aucho (6),Joseph Mpande (10), Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kiziito,Dan ‘Muzei’ Sserukuma, Hamis ‘Diego’ Kizza, Emma Okwi
Tanzania: Phillip Ivo Mpunda (GK),Kelvin Yodani (5),Erasto Nyoni (4),Aidan Michael (13) ,Hussein Said (15), Frank Domayo (16),Salum Abubaker (2),Samata Mbwana (10),Ngassa Mwrisho (17),Thomas Ulimwengu (11), Kiemba Ramadhan(9)


Subscribe for notification