Mutono Sworn in as Butebo County MP

Dr. Patrick Mutono swears in as new Butebo MP in parliament
Dr. Patrick Mutono swears in as new Butebo MP in parliament

The newly elected Member of Parliament for Butebo County Dr. Mutono Patrick Lodoi has today sworn in formally as a MP as parliament reconvened.

The National Resistance Movement (NRM)’s candidate was declared the winner of the Butebo by-election by the Pallisa district Electoral Commission Registrar Charles Rwebero which he won with 22,915 votes, taking up 88.8 percent of the total votes cast.

Mutono’s election came after the death of Stephen Oscar Mallinga in April this year who was serving as a Minister of Relief, Disaster and Refugees and Member of Parliament for Butebo County Constituency.

Mutono was elected on a National Resistance Movement (NRM) ticket which he won in the primaries beating six others to take it.

He is known for having established the Lodoi Development Fund Project in Pallisa district, Butebo County.

On behalf of NRM Party and government, Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi welcomed Mutono to Parliament telling him that though he is in Parliament on a party ticket but he should serve all regardless of his party affiliation.

Mbabazi asked Mutono to follow the Constitutional Provisions, observe discipline of the NRM Party and the august House.

On behalf Opposition in Parliament, The Leader of Opposition Nandala Mafabi welcomed Mutono to Parliament and urged him to represent the people of Uganda but not the issues of his Party saying that he should serve all the people of Uganda and all people of Butebo regardless of whether they voted him or not.

Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga welcomed MP Mutono on behalf of Parliament and handed him a copy of the constitution, the rules of procedure and said that the chief whip will hand him a committee on which he should serve.

Subscribe for notification