Kitende takes 7th COPA Coca-Cola Championship

The COPA Cola-Cola championship tournament was won by Entebbe based St Mary’s Kitende on Saturday at Kigezi High School as they pushed off Standard High school Zana with Egaku Gerald’s winning goal.

The tournament official Mr Kennedy Mutenyo said that the record winners which include Kibuli ss,Old Kampala,Kawempe Muntuyera,St Loes Kyegobe Lango College Masaka and Jinja were now replaced by St, Julian High School from Gayanza.

“It is now clear that schools which don’t invest in the game by at least offering scholarships will never step on this podium,” tournament official Kennedy Mutenyo said to a huge crowd at Kabale Municipal Stadium.

Kyegobe had a fairy-tale run, defeating tough opponents including Mukono’s Dynamic Secondary but their run came to an end when they lost to Kitende 4-1 in the semifinals. Nonetheless, they left with a proud record – the only team to breach Kitende’s defense.

“We are not disappointed at all. This is a satisfying performance,” Kyegobe coach Fred Muhumuza said.


Kitende 1-0 Standard


Third place

St Julian 2 (4) – 2 (3) Kyegobe

Semi finals

Kitende 4-1 Kyegobe

Standard 2-1 St Julian


2002 Kibuli

2003 Old Kampala

2004 Kitende

2005 Kibuli

2006 Kitende

2007 Kitende

2008 Kitende

2009 Budo SS

2010 Bishop Nankyama

2011 Kitende

2012 Kitende

2013 Kitende

Subscribe for notification